Political Science eBooks Download Read Free Political

KINDLE Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel

I have to admit to a certain amount of ignorance about Coco Chanel other than the fact that i ve coveted her iconic fragrances and make up since I was old enough to browse the aisles of fragrances and make up since I was old enough to browse the aisles of and Bloomingdale s Knowing how Gortner s previous novels have grabbed me and sucked me in i had Bloomingdale s Knowing how Gortner s previous novels have grabbed me and sucked me in i had reasonable belief that Mademoiselle Chanel would do the sameI was not disappointedIn the classic rags to riches story of this fashion legend who in fact is legendary than Chanel story of this fashion legend who in fact is legendary than Chanel became part of the story of a young dispossessed child who from the start learned to be disappointed in men If Gortner made this all up it would be unbelievable but he didn t We watch this young independent seamstress become a rising star building her empire from scratch with a little help from benefactors having the vision to see a woman s world through a classical sophisticated yet interestingly low ey style Gortner s description of Chanel s battles with the likes of the over the top Schiaparelli were for me a microcosm of Chanel s lifeAgain pleading ignorance here I had no idea that Chanel was implicated as a spy during WWII and frankly coming to now a little of what formed her inner being from Gortner i don t buy it I suppose that is for the ages That she left her beloved Paris for Switzerland after Vichy fell and the French who remained behind during the German occupation were stigmatized and prosecuted is a testament to her courage in reinventing herself as she did time and again during the course of her long lifeThis is a well researched deeply felt biographical novel Although i m not a fashion maven Gortner s insights and his desire to create an accessible reachable Coco a Coco. For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama passion tragedy and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel the ambitious gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion built an international empire and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century Born into rural poverty Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills a talent that will propel

C. W. Gortner ☆ 2 Summary

T so often they re about love lost during the wars or displaced families and lost wealth I stay as far as I can from romance and chick lit but this book deals overwhelmingly with female characters and complicated relationships but never degenerates into sappy descriptions in addition to a tightly written story In addition to a tightly written story manages to drop the reader into the setting by his descriptions of smells I could almost smell Coco relentless cigarettes and her perfume and hear the waves while she vacationed The description of the German Military Office And French office and French station were indeed chilling Even her outbursts of anger seemed to place the reader in the sceneOne of my most prized possessions is a red Chanel bag I purchased 26 years agoknowing the history behind it makes it that much special BTW this would be a perfect book club selectiongripping story and little if anything to offend anyone An excellent biography of a woman ahead of her time I new next to nothing about Coco the woman before I read this book Some reviews mentioned that it glossed over her anti semitic Some reviews mentioned that it glossed over her anti semitic It might also have glossed over her penchant of sleeping with many men but I have admiration for this feisty woman who actually had to fight her way to the top by herself She never had someone who truly loved and assisted her Some reviewers found her unlikable but I found the way she was portrayed was probably on the nail given her circumstances And she was extremely generous with her money when she felt someone needed help Do however Syncopated: An Anthology of Nonfiction Picto-Essays keep in mind that this is a novel for those who want tonow about the life of Gabrielle Coco Chanel Unless she interests you this might not be the book for yo. Thful ease and confidence of the s modern woman As Coco's reputation spreads her couturier business explodes taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass And when Paris falls to the Nazis Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength passion and artistic vision would become her trademar. Mademoiselle Chanel: A NovelWho was not always accessible even to those she loved and who loved her is a testament to his talent as a writer Beautifully written very much in the moment this is a first class piece of historical fiction I really enjoyed this historical novel written in the first person It is well researched about the humble beginnings of Coco Chanel and her rise in the fashion world The background included both World Wars and her life in Paris with the rise in the fashion world The background included both World Wars and her life in Paris with the of society that included famous artists Picasso Dali dancers composers deposed Russian aristocracy as well as British and French high society She was a complex character with an assortment of longtime love affairs and friendships Her dry wit and humor are legendary All in all it was a fascinating tale in that time period It was also very interesting to see how Chanel s clothing lines jewelry and perfumes developed into what is Are All Guys Assholes?: More Than 1,000 Guys in 10 Cities Reveal Why They're Not, Why They Sometimes Act Like They Are, and How Understanding Their ... Will Solve Your Guy Drama Once and For All known today as the House of Chanel Highly recommend I liked the author s straightforward style the historical details of life in Paris before during WW II and an up close look at the intriguing Coco Chanel I ve always loved Chanel No 5 perfume enjoyed reading about its conception long life It has been such fun eavesdropping on a famous woman s life whose name I ve alwaysnown I rarely rate a book a 5 star score but this one had all the elements that appeal to me I think book clubs would devour this one had all the elements that appeal to me I think book clubs would devour tasty exotic bio in novel form by Nancy Anne Everything about this book works the setting narration character developmentnothing was left to chance I read about 50 books each year and this novel is hands down the best historical fiction I ve read I m drawn to novels about this time period bu. He willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood Transforming herself into Coco a seamstress and sometime torch singer the petite brunette burns with ambition an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny Rejecting the frilly corseted silhouette of the past her sleek minimalist styles reflect the you. ,