Political Science eBooks Download Read Free Political

E–book [Why Did the Policeman Cross the Road?]

S Stevyn and his colleagues encountered and how they learned to determine the cause rather than the symptoms of those problems and how to constructively think about and employ better solutions I kept finding myself relating those ideas to my own life In that way the book becomes identifiable and useful for all readersThe other charm is the stories are told with humor and a sense of infectious optimism A highly recommended read Although the main subject of the book is about problem solving this is also a book about how policing police work should be Prevention of crime and of community s being not just investigation and arrests The book also reminds us well being not just

investigation and arrests 
and arrests book also reminds us how to cooperate and collaborate as ood neighbors againRecommended for problem solving psychology and social issues enthusiasts An interesting set of ideas regarding how to solve problems Written in an easily and humorous manner Why Did The Policeman Cross The Road is no joke but it is a very thought provoking sensitive and humorous book Stevyn Colgan calls upon his 30 years experience as a Metropolitan Police Officer to illustrate why he believes that preventing crime is better than catching the bad uys after a Tackle crime and public concerns that didn’t always mean clogging the judicial system with copious arrests or flooding the streets with extra cops This new style of intelligent problem solving policing took the cleverest ideas from academic research military strategy business marketing public health and many other areas of work mixed them all up with a ood dollop of original thinking and solved problems that had previously been labelled as unsolvableIn this remarkable book he tells the story of his work in Scotland Yard’s innovative Problem Solving Unit and how the team tackled some of London’s most persistent problems Along the way you’ll find out how dog shows stopped young men killing each other how lollipo. Stories and Insight about Crime PreventionThis is one of the most entertaining and insightful books I have read for a long time Throughly enjoyed it The story of crime prevention through the eyes of of one police officer and his thirty years of service including the Met s problem solving It explains policing better than any criminology text book that I have read I should know as explains neighbourhood policing better than any criminology text book that I have read I should know as teach criminology Entertaining and has a lot to offer than what meets the eye An out standing description analysis of how policing should be done In the acknowledgements of this delightful and insightful book author Stevyn Colgan shares that in early drafts the book read like an instruction manual written in the third person and as a result felt a bit flat and dry Stevyn s friend and one time boss John Lloyd read an early draft and constructively commented the problem was Stevyn had left himself out of the storiesThankfully Stevyn took that counsel to heart as the charm of the book is in sharing stories from his own experiences and insight Confessions of an Air Ambulance Doctor gained over the course of a 30 year career focused on Problem Oriented Policing the book becomes entirely relatable Through reading about the problem. How did a teenage wizard foil teams of illegal streetamblersHow do smokers help prevent your car being broken intoWhat do sex workers and tiger farms have in commonWhy do bees make the best sheepdogs for elephantsAnd how do the phantom bus stops of Dusseldorf keep vulnerable old people safeWhat links these seemingly unconnected uestions is ood problem solvingStevyn Colgan is an author artist and popular public speaker He’s one of the writers of the hugely successful BBC TV series I andThe Museum of Curiosity But in a previous career he spent 30 years as a police officer in London during which he became involved in a small but potent revolution He and some of his colleagues realised that there was a smarter way to. Rime has been committed He shows how a creative thinking can be used to put the power and the advantage back into the hands OF COMMUNITY AND MAKE THE the community and make the stronger as a result This book is full of heart warming and life enhancing stories and I am sure you will feel enriched for having read it A collection of anecdotes from 30 years of policingColgan was working as a street bobby in the 1980 s but ravitated towards unconventional methods for preventing crime rather than solving them He worked in the UK Police Problem Solving Group pushing for understanding the causes of crime and working towards eliminating those He s a big fan of community cohesion and advocates as a very cost efficient way of cutting crime to simply 6 1/2 Body Parts (Body Movers, get to know one s neighbours This is areat read interesting and informative A reat explanation of the intelligence unit of the Metropolitan Police and Stevyn s involvement in setting it up Interesting engaging and funny throughout The value of policing when it s not focused on arrest figures and intimidation the difference applying true problem solving can make and the importance of putting bins away are all revealed Makes you want to *be a cop again. Ps prevented night club closures how wheelie bins worked in cahoots with burglars *a cop again. Ps prevented night club closures how wheelie bins worked in cahoots with burglars why celebrities should be covered in chewing um You’ll also discover how bird tables can prevent car crashes how fake vomit can clean up the streets and why sitting down in Japan may just result in a sore bottomWhy did the Policeman Cross the Road is a celebration of original thinking peppered with fascinating research and entertaining stories in the tradition of books such as Levitt and Dubner’s Freakonomics Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point and Leonard Mlodinow’s The Drunkard’s WalkAnd it’s than possible that the book contains some little tool or techniue that could help you solve some of the problems in your own lif. Why Did the Policeman Cross the Road?